On Books & Reviews

A short-hand view of The Sellout

The SelloutThe Sellout by Paul Beatty
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Like all other American Novelists I had read, I thought this one would also be a breeze. I picked up the book from a street stall near home and was hoping to go through it in one go. The colloquial references and off-hand humour had me stopping at every juncture and wanting to re-read the last few paragraphs every time I read the book after a few days. Difficult reading for a reader completely unintiated in LA slang, the book certainly has it quirks and makes some very valid points. And like all novels based on the subject has a very rounded ending with a poigant statement which makes you rethink of what you are and what you actually let the world perceive. All in all, this is one book I would definitely want to re-read only to enjoy the plot line which I esentially derived in my broken reading.

View all my reviews

Standard

Leave a Reply

